• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First Time OC: i7920 on p6t Deluxe v2 Help?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

scorbit1

Hi-
I am a newbie when it comes to overclocking and would like to crank up my 17 920 retail a bit. I have a p6t deluxe vt MB with 12 Gig Dominator 1600 Ram running at 8-8-8-8-24 Using XMP Profile 1 at 1.66V.

I am completely new at this, so basic level instructions please...
I am running the turboVutility.. should I use it or bios?

I want a very modest OC to start with, maybe low 3's?

Thanks Everyone!

Scott

i have the gigabyte ud5 board,it has a utility called easytune 6 i did not use that to overclock my system.

i always overclock from bios.

Bios Setings?

What Bios Settings would should be used to get low to mid 3's out of 920?

Dunno what kind of cooling you have, but keep in mind that is going to affect your temperatures which are in turn going to affect your overclock and the advise given to you. (Other than use the BIOS over software)

System and Cooling SUmmary:
ASUS p6t Deluxe V2
Retail Core i7 920
12 gb Dominator 1600 at 8-8-8-24 1.66v
EVGA OC gtx 260
pc pOWER AND cOOLING 750 sILENCER
WD Velociraptor 300 Main
WD RE 1gb Data Drive

Cooling:
Retail Intel CPU HeatSink and Fan with Artic Silver Thermal Paste
PCI Slot Exhaust Fan High
120 MM TriCool at High Rear Fan
Domintor Memory Fans
Northbridge Fan on High
CPU temp normal usage around 44-49C
MB Temp Normal Usage 41-44C
CPU Temp during Performance Test 64 at high of 55C
MB Temp during Performance Test 64 at about 50C

System and Cooling SUmmary:
ASUS p6t Deluxe V2
Retail Core i7 920
12 gb Dominator 1600 at 8-8-8-24 1.66v
EVGA OC gtx 260
pc pOWER AND cOOLING 750 sILENCER
WD Velociraptor 300 Main
WD RE 1gb Data Drive

Cooling:
Retail Intel CPU HeatSink and Fan with Artic Silver Thermal Paste