• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to disable NCQ

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cablesguy

Registered
Hi,

This is my first post here so hello to everybody, im currently running 2 x 150gb raptors on Raid 0 via the ICH8R controller on an Asus Commando board and was wondering how i do disable NCQ, cant find it under the intel Matrix Strage Mnger and neither can i find it in device manager...anybody??
Under IMSM it says NCQ supported but thats it.

Thx in advance

yup raptors are basically sata 1.5Gb, anyway what further info/specs do you require...noob here.

hope this is not some merry go round kinda question ;) , anyway in answer to ur question, i would like to benchmark for myself to see whether its actually true that disabling ncq does give that little bit of edge, n hopefully squeeze whataver i can frm them as theyre not exactly cheap.

cablesguy said:
hope this is not some merry go round kinda question ;) , anyway in answer to ur question, i would like to benchmark for myself to see whether its actually true that disabling ncq does give that little bit of edge, n hopefully squeeze whataver i can frm them as theyre not exactly cheap.

To disable NCQ your drives must be in AHCI (native SATA) mode. You then need to go into your BIOS, change your SATA mode to IDE. You will then need to reinstall Windows as it will no longer be bootable.

If you are already in IDE mode, you must change to AHCI mode in the BIOS, and then reinstall Windows.

It wasn't a merry-go-round question...it's a merry-go-round process :]

Basically, AHCI mode automatically has NCQ enabled. IDE mode does not.