• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A8V Deluxe problem?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Spacehogster

Hi guys,
I apologise if the answer is a really obvious, but this is my first build. I've been bought the A8V and have been having a bit of a problem getting anything working ie any post when the power button is pressed. The fans start to spin but barely make one revolution, that is the PSU, Case and Heatsink fans! No messages or tones at all.

My spec is as follows:
Motherboad: Asus A8V Deluxe Rev 2.00
Processor: Athlon 64 3500+
Heatsink: Standard boxed until problem is sorted then Asus Star Ice
Memory: 2x 1GB Crucial 184-pin Unbuffered DDR PC3200 :drool:
PSU: Tagan TG480-U01 (Ticking)
Graphics Card: Geforce 6800GT

Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
HD: 2x Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 200GB
Don't thing anythong else is relevant yet, but will post if needed

Having read through the excellent guide by Super Nade I think I have narrowed the problem down to one of the following (Standard really): PSU, Motherboard, CPU, memory or graphics card.
I believe I can discount the PSU as it runs my old (5 yr) Time computer no probs and the ticking appears to be a feature. Also, the motherboad's indicator light is on so it is receiving power.
I have tried both sticks of memory separately in the B1 slot, and both at the same time in A1 and B1 but no joy.
Without the graphics card receiving power I get a brief tone as the fans spin then nothing. I can't test the processor in another motherboard, and likewise vice versa.
I've used up all my knowledge of computers at this stage, and have struggled to find anything on the web. If anyone has any ideas for help they would be gladly received, especiall before I go to PC World (UK) to buy a small stick of RAM as recommended in the Manual