• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Advertising in games(NFSU2)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dartor

So I started playing NFSU2 and was tooling around town when I spy a BK sign. I thought this was kinda cool for them to think of details like this. Then I see a BK shop and another sign and then the game is telling me there is stuff near the BK. WTF ! Why is it necassary to have this crap in my game.

So far I've seen Pontiac(fair cause they have the GTO in the game), Red Zone (wtf deodorant), cingular and some others signs. I mean how much did EA get for this sham.

I haven't seen such blatant commerical whoring since TNMT 2 for the NES. Pizza smut really f'ed that one up.

I ask you, why must my game be ruined by these products. I'll buy it if I want to buy it not cause its blaring in my face every 30 seconds.

What other games are this shameful??

Wow. And I was actually thinking of buying NFSU2 since I liked the first so much. Very disappointing.

EA == the cheap ***** of the gaming world.

dartor said:
Don't get me wrong the game is still very fun, but it is distracting to see that kinda stuff.

I'm sure it is. I liked the demo... but if we support that sort of garbage in our games by buying the titles that have those ads in them, then it will only perpetuate this trend, and very possibly could make things worse. I'd personally rather not see a McDonald's commercial while my next level of HL2 is loading if you catch my drift. ;)

In-game ads aren't that new. But most have been supporting computer related things, like nVidia, ATI, Intel, etc. This markething strategy implemented by EA just gives the larger advertising industry a possible foothold on the biggest segment of the entertainment industry. :-/